Newbie Here, Got a Few Questions

Discussion of N gauge model railway specific products and related model railway topics (problems and solutions). (Graham Farish, Dapol, Peco)
RowanMackenzie

Newbie Here, Got a Few Questions

Post by RowanMackenzie »

1) I saw somewhere that wiring for DCC layouts needs feeders for EVERY piece of track, which seems excessive. Is this true? I'm currently running a decent oval with a few sidings with only one feeder, and the loco seems to retain power just fine except for on points (because of insulfrogs I suspect).

2) I'd like to do a little verticality for my layout, and plan to use foam to build up the terrain. How would I make holes for my feeders? Would I need to make a hollow frame to put the foam on first?

3) Is there a way to get around the problems with insulfrog points? I saw somebody putting tin foil over theirs, but that was OO gauge, and I don't want to wire up electrofrog points.

Thanks for any answers/advice in advance
Mountain

Re: Newbie Here, Got a Few Questions

Post by Mountain »

You do not need feeders for every piece of track, but the basic idea is for all track to be "Live". It does not have to be, as one can simply plug in a DCC controller into a DC layout instead of the DC controller and switch all track sections on. Ok, the sidings will be dead if the points are not set for them, but to be honest, this does not matter unless one wants lights and sound to remain functioning while the loco is sat in the siding.

I will let someone else answer the rest. What scale and gauge do you (Or will be) modelling in?
RowanMackenzie

Post by RowanMackenzie »