New to railway modelling and looking for advice

Discussion of N gauge model railway specific products and related model railway topics (problems and solutions). (Graham Farish, Dapol, Peco)
AdamChivers

New to railway modelling and looking for advice

Postby AdamChivers » Sun Jan 13, 2019 2:06 pm

Hi everyone, my names Adam and I am fairly new to model railways. I am familiar with most of the basics as I got into oo a few years ago, however I live in a small apartment and it wasnt practical.

I am looking at building an n guage layout as this will give me a lot more options. I was thinking of doing either a 6x3 or 8x4 layout that I can place on the bed.

I want 3 lines running in a basic oval loop with maybe some sidings going into the middle. I want it to be a piece of west coast mainline and maybe put a platform at one end.

Im not sure if modular would also be an option so I could store it easier?

I dont know how to rig up point motors or what controller to use etc. I was thinking of buying the highlander set with dcc and sound and maybe building around that in a modern image theme

Any advice on what to do would be greatly appreciated, thanks

heda

Re: New to railway modelling and looking for advice

Postby heda » Sun Jan 13, 2019 3:21 pm

Welcome to the forum Adam, you have come to the right place for good friendly advice. My N gauge layout is 72" x 32 which is pretty close to the size you mentioned", I've attached a link so as to give you some idea what you can fit into the space. It is very light so can be moved around by one person and stands flat against the wall when not in use (which at the moment is most of the time).

I used Peco code 55 flexitrack, I wouldn't worry to much about point motors just yet, there is lots of information on setting them up and people on here ready to give help if your stuck. The question of what controller is going to depend on whether you dc or dcc which is a another subject in it's own right.

viewtopic.php?f=22&t=49491