hornby R206 power connector

What do you want from a model railway shop?
simontk
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 4:34 am
Location: Stockport
Contact:

hornby R206 power connector

Postby simontk » Mon Dec 07, 2015 5:57 am

does anyone know where I can get ahornby R206 power connector from ?

trainlover23
Posts: 382
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 10:28 am

Re: hornby R206 power connector

Postby trainlover23 » Mon Dec 07, 2015 12:28 pm

Should it be R8206 in which case any Hornby stockist should stock it

simontk
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 4:34 am
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Re: hornby R206 power connector

Postby simontk » Wed Dec 09, 2015 8:45 am

But it is the power cable I NEED not the track.

User avatar
alex3410
Posts: 3290
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 4:39 pm
Location: Essex

Re: hornby R206 power connector

Postby alex3410 » Wed Dec 09, 2015 9:39 am

This is R206
Imagelink


do you mean this?
link
Image

in which case the R8206 referred to above serves the same purpose - i think its just the newer way of connecting it all up.

failing that the next part in the chain would be the controller itself (assuming non DCC its R8250 ) Link
Image

Richard Lee
Posts: 220
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 6:00 am

Re: hornby R206 power connector

Postby Richard Lee » Wed Dec 09, 2015 10:40 am

@ simontk - If it is a power connector clip that you are after, you might want to be aware of a few things.

Firstly, although you can use the DCC power connector clip for DC, you shouldn't use the DC one for DCC. The DC one has capacitor(s) added, which are not necessary for DC, but may well affect running with DCC. The DCC users on the forum should be able to give you more details, if you need.

Secondly, Peco (and Bachmann, if they do them) ones would work with Hornby track, even if they look different.

Thirdly, a lot of people prefer to solder the ends of the wires from the controller to the undersides (or the outer sides) of the rails. It looks better, because it is easier to disguise with ballast. It also means that you can supply power to more than one piece of track. I know that it sounds a bit of a chore, but it can mean that your layout is more reliable. The rail joiners (sometimes called 'fishplates') tend to conduct electricity when they are fairly new, but progressively less well as time goes on.

Good luck, whatever you choose to do.

User avatar
alex3410
Posts: 3290
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 4:39 pm
Location: Essex

Re: hornby R206 power connector

Postby alex3410 » Wed Dec 09, 2015 11:29 am

Richard Lee wrote:Thirdly, a lot of people prefer to solder the ends of the wires from the controller to the undersides (or the outer sides) of the rails. It looks better, because it is easier to disguise with ballast. It also means that you can supply power to more than one piece of track. I know that it sounds a bit of a chore, but it can mean that your layout is more reliable. The rail joiners (sometimes called 'fishplates') tend to conduct electricity when they are fairly new, but progressively less well as time goes on.


thats a good point - if like me you cant stand soldering you can get pre soldered fish plates this chap has been fantastic with mine you can see how i used them in my layout thread here

simontk
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 4:34 am
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Re: hornby R206 power connector

Postby simontk » Wed Dec 09, 2015 10:46 pm

Good havens !. it's all changed since the days of my old H & M Duette Controller days, lol.
This DCC lark, really does bring a layout to life !
So much that I a going to finish off my Tram layout, quickly ! So I can start a completely new DCC "N" gauge Train layout.
It IS possible to obtain such a broad spectrum of accessories, scenery and rolling stock ! AND all in "N" gauge. Which means you no longer have to take up a whole room !
I have already started to work on my layout design. As I really want to make it the best layout I, !, am capable of producing.
As I am a bit of a stickler, when it comes to, making a layout which not only looks good, but IS also plausible.
As you can now get a DCC turntable I am thinking of utilising 1. If I place it towards the centre of my layout, with three tracks off it in both directions. I am going to have it like a workshop with a tet running track round the perimeter. And all on a piece of 6' X 3' , 12mm MDF board.
I will post a Scarm image once completed.

trainlover23
Posts: 382
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2011 10:28 am

Re: hornby R206 power connector

Postby trainlover23 » Thu Dec 10, 2015 6:49 am

simontk wrote:Good havens !. it's all changed since the days of my old H & M Duette Controller days, lol.
This DCC lark, really does bring a layout to life !
So much that I a going to finish off my Tram layout, quickly ! So I can start a completely new DCC "N" gauge Train layout.
It IS possible to obtain such a broad spectrum of accessories, scenery and rolling stock ! AND all in "N" gauge. Which means you no longer have to take up a whole room !
I have already started to work on my layout design. As I really want to make it the best layout I, !, am capable of producing.
As I am a bit of a stickler, when it comes to, making a layout which not only looks good, but IS also plausible.
As you can now get a DCC turntable I am thinking of utilising 1. If I place it towards the centre of my layout, with three tracks off it in both directions. I am going to have it like a workshop with a tet running track round the perimeter. And all on a piece of 6' X 3' , 12mm MDF board.
I will post a Scarm image once completed.


On a 6 x 3 board you will struggling to get what you suggest on there

simontk
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 4:34 am
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Re: hornby R206 power connector

Postby simontk » Thu Dec 10, 2015 11:27 am

but if I can make it fit on Scarm, surely I am safe, NO ?

simontk
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 4:34 am
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Re: hornby R206 power connector

Postby simontk » Thu Dec 10, 2015 1:52 pm

..............................................................................................
Attachments
1 2 60p.jpg
1 2 60p.jpg (31.41 KiB) Viewed 1175 times

User avatar
alex3410
Posts: 3290
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 4:39 pm
Location: Essex

Re: hornby R206 power connector

Postby alex3410 » Sat Dec 12, 2015 8:41 am

What about these additions

red = head shunt which will let you shunt the sidings without getting in the way of the main loop

blue = passing loop, which will let you store a train in the siding as another passes - would also make a good station area

Image

simontk
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 4:34 am
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Re: hornby R206 power connector

Postby simontk » Sun Dec 13, 2015 7:08 am

Like this :- Good call !
Attachments
the 1  xtra green   3.jpg
the 1 xtra green 3.jpg (64.17 KiB) Viewed 1146 times

simontk
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 4:34 am
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Re: hornby R206 power connector

Postby simontk » Sun Dec 13, 2015 7:14 am

sorry this :-
Attachments
the 1  xtra green   3.jpg
the 1 xtra green 3.jpg (62.5 KiB) Viewed 1146 times

simontk
Posts: 43
Joined: Sun Nov 29, 2015 4:34 am
Location: Stockport
Contact:

Re: hornby R206 power connector

Postby simontk » Sun Dec 13, 2015 9:02 am

snapshot  2 jp.jpg
snapshot 2 jp.jpg (90.23 KiB) Viewed 1140 times
OR :- .................. Can u tell I've nowt better 2 do, ha ha.


Return to “Model Railway Shop”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest