Hello from America

Welcome to New Railway Modellers Forum. Read the Introduction and Terms and conditions of New Railway Modellers model railway forum. Introduce yourself to the members in this section.
sudoggie

Hello from America

Post by sudoggie »

By way of introduction, I'm brand new to model rail. An awfully long time ago, when I was about 10 or 11, I had a Hornby train set which I remember fondly to this day. It was very basic--a steam engine, some goods wagons, and a small oval track. I enjoyed it thoroughly but briefly because all it did was go around in a loop yet I decided then that I'd like to put together something more involving and challenging one day.

I suppose that thought has never left me--so here I am 40 years on, now living in America, on the verge of following through. Gosh, aren't things ever so complicated? So many manufacturers, gauges, models etc. etc.--where does one begin? My approach is to go with what little I know which brought me to hornby.com.

I have learned that Hornby uses a OO gauge which is apparently not very common over here. Still, there is a Hornby US website and since this is an exercise in nostalgia I'd like to believe I'm on the right track. I do have quite a lot of questions and I hope they aren't entirely stupid.

Glad to meet all of you. :D

--SM
SRman

Re: Hello from America

Post by SRman »

Welcome, SM.

If it is of any help, OO and HO use the same track gauge of 16.5mm, even though the actual model scales are different - OO = 1/76, HO = 1.87 scales.

I do mix both scales by running British OO and Continental European HO trains, sometimes even at the same time! My layout is predominantly British, with left-hand running and British scenery, buildings and signals, but I do like some fo the European models, so they get a run too.