hi all

Welcome to New Railway Modellers Forum. Read the Introduction and Terms and conditions of New Railway Modellers model railway forum. Introduce yourself to the members in this section.
VL80

hi all

Postby VL80 » Sat Nov 28, 2020 8:19 am

Hi everybody! My name is Luca. I am slowly growing my collection of locomotives. Mainly interested in soviet era trains.

Stainsacre

Re: hi all

Postby Stainsacre » Sat Nov 28, 2020 8:33 am

Welcome aboard Luca, looking forward to you input on something completely different from the UK mainstream.

BrightonMan

Postby BrightonMan » Sat Nov 28, 2020 8:51 am

Welcome to the group, Luca. I have no knowledge what so ever about Soviet trains, so will watch your posts with interest.

Dad-1

Postby Dad-1 » Sat Nov 28, 2020 9:20 am

Hi Luca,

This could be VERY interesting.
I don't even know without searching it out what the standard Russian/Soviet gauge is.
Wider than out 4' 8.1/2" I know.
As to models who makes where/how do you get them ??

Geoff T.
Remember ... I know nothing about railways.
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=32187 and Another on viewtopic.php?f=22&t=28436&start=60&st=0&sk=t&sd=a

glencairn

Postby glencairn » Sat Nov 28, 2020 11:02 am

Welcome on board, Luca.

Russian Gauge is 5ft (1524mm). In 1960 it was redefined as 1520mm.

Glencairn
To the world you are someone. To someone you are their world.
I Cannot Afford the Luxury of a Negative Thought

Mountain

Postby Mountain » Sat Nov 28, 2020 12:14 pm

Russia made the change to 5ft after one of the wars they had where they were invaded so quickly and easily via their railway network, it shocked them and they changed their entire system to 5ft as it was a gauge that no one else was using, and to be honest, who can blame them? Ones peoples safety and security have to come first.