Hello From Sunny Norfolk

Welcome to New Railway Modellers Forum. Read the Introduction and Terms and conditions of New Railway Modellers model railway forum. Introduce yourself to the members in this section.
KanpaiKeith

Hello From Sunny Norfolk

Postby KanpaiKeith » Sun Aug 02, 2020 11:17 am

Hi guys and gals just signed up to this great site.

I’m going to describe myself as a complete novice as I’ve never done any railway modelling previously. Roll back a few ahem, years to when I was a nipper and received my first set in the 70s. It was a battery operated Lima freight set IIRC had an early BR green diesel shunter, and some wagons and I was bitten. My first Hornby set arrived to following Christmas containing a charming 0-4-0 tank and 3 4 -wheeled coaches in “Highland Railways” livery. I found out shortly after that a friends dad on our estate had just built a layout in his garage. Needless to say I was round there like a shot with my rolling stock in hand.

A few years after starting work and buying a home with my now wife I wanted to rekindle my love of model railways. I stuck a savings jar on the side and put in any loose change I had (remember these where the days of 17% mortgage rates). Eventually I had enough to Hornby’s Highlander set, saddle tank, 4-wheel coach and 2 wagons. I loved it! The Mighty Mallard and suburban passenger sets soon followed.

I wanted to build my own layout so set about acquiring track and rolling stock. Unfortunately we never really settled anywhere long enough to make a start and then the kids came along and everything was shelved.

Which brings me to now. I chosen to start with a clean slate and an open mind and chose the scale and type of railway that I want as there is much much more available that there ever was before. With a somewhat heavy heart I have sold off most of my OO stock to fund my venture....... Japanese layout in N gauge.