Lots to learn!

Welcome to New Railway Modellers Forum. Read the Introduction and Terms and conditions of New Railway Modellers model railway forum. Introduce yourself to the members in this section.
Dave1980

Lots to learn!

Postby Dave1980 » Thu Jan 24, 2019 3:42 pm

Hi all,

I'm new on here... a complete newbie... much to learn! :shock: :shock: I have many questions, too many for this post!

Currently, I am converting the loft in my garage for my layout. It's a truss roof (or was) that I've adapted by removing the central up/down pieces to make room... I did brace underneath from wall to wall to stop it caving in!

My layout will have to be a horseshoe type as the most head height is central of the room and this is where I will work/play from... But, I am unsure about how far out the base board should come from the wall. After reading other posts on here, I gather track more than 2ft away from the edge of the board is awkward to work on. And this is where I learned something already....

I was convinced my board would have to stick out 43" (110cm) so I could have a loop and either end of the horseshoe.... because... I took the four bends out of the set my wife brought me and measured the diameter... 104cm... "thats what my base must be".... or so I thought!

So, a bit more research on here and I discovered that the bends I have are not the only ones you can get... Genius!! My set is supplied with R609's... standard with most sets I would imagine... so if I use R605's, my board need not be so wide! Who's a clever chap, eh? :D

I know, I know.... complete beginner stuff here!

The length of my layout will be 2.5 metres along the first wall, 2.8 metres across side wall and 3 metres back down the other wall.... but how far out from the wall, that is the question!?! Far out enough to accommodate my loops!

I guess the layout I have is ideal for shunting and switching, but I would love to have a loop in the layout to keep things mixed up a bit.