Insulating foam board construction

Discuss model railway topics and news that do not fit into other sections.
Grumpstoot

Insulating foam board construction

Postby Grumpstoot » Mon Jan 03, 2022 6:23 pm

I am new to modeling and i am about to start on a baseboard a lot of advice i have read suggests using foam boards as they are easy to sculpture for terrain etc, will this take static grass in the usual way what are the pros and cons

Bigmet

Re: Insulating foam board construction

Postby Bigmet » Mon Jan 03, 2022 8:27 pm

It's quite expensive, especially if you want a fair amount of vertical relief. I am more of a scrap wood profile frames with chickenwire over, covered with papier mache sort of guy ('shell' construction).

Flashbang

Postby Flashbang » Mon Jan 03, 2022 8:37 pm

Anything over about 3 x 3 ft should be supported on a suitable underneath framework. In fact such insulating material is often too thick for any underneath such as wiring or point operations etc! :o
Personally, I would not recommend such a material as a main and unsupported baseboard.
[Image << Click the Icon to go to my website
Broken? It was working correctly when I left it.

Grumpstoot

Postby Grumpstoot » Mon Jan 03, 2022 8:47 pm

Ok thanks so what about using it to create terrain such has hills embankments etc?

Flashbang

Postby Flashbang » Mon Jan 03, 2022 8:51 pm

Grumpstoot wrote:Ok thanks so what about using it to create terrain such has hills embankments etc?

No problem then as the main foundations or structure is held by hopefully a very secure and well made framing!
Don't forget the baseboard is the foundation of the layout, much like the concrete footings are the foundations of your house! Poorly made then collapse or other failure will result! :o
[Image << Click the Icon to go to my website
Broken? It was working correctly when I left it.

Grumpstoot

Postby Grumpstoot » Mon Jan 03, 2022 10:09 pm