Simulator

Discuss model railway topics and news that do not fit into other sections.
IAN1955
Posts: 92
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2015 7:27 pm

Simulator

Postby IAN1955 » Sun Apr 19, 2020 11:13 am

Been a while and after an unscheduled move of house I have to start all over again, made a few mistakes on last layout and vowed not to make them again, part of the curve.

One thing I learned was to buy a good controller and that is where you good people come in, I had a Bachmann controller that IMO was not very good, I have been looking at Gaugemaster 4 track Track Controller with Simulation, what is simulation I know some will roll their eyes but it has been over 50 years since I did this.

Now the next part, I am not into DCC I am old fashioned DC, I will have 4 running tracks with sidings and other branches would the above controller do the job or is there something better.

Thanks in advance
Ian

Byegad
Posts: 110
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 1:56 pm

Re: Simulator

Postby Byegad » Sun Apr 19, 2020 11:21 am

I've been using a Gaugemaster DS, twin track simulator for well over 20 yrs. Absolutely fantastic bit of kit. Plus lifetime guarantee from GM.

User avatar
Bufferstop
Posts: 12284
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 12:06 pm
Location: Bottom end of N. Warks line

Re: Simulator

Postby Bufferstop » Sun Apr 19, 2020 11:30 am

Simulation is a method of controlling the motor that makes the loco seem to have the inertia or momentum of the real thing. It means that reducing the power setting doesn't immediately slow the loco it seems to coast, slowing down requires the use of the brake, a separate control. Sometimes it's a brake lever (a pointer knob) or it might be just a press button which you hold down for braking. It makes driving a loco more challenging, like the real thing, but really needs long lengths of track for the effect to be obvious. Most controllers which feature it have a switch to turn it off. Shunting in sidings which are much shorter than the prototype is best not attempted with inertia on.
Growing old, can't avoid it. Growing up, forget it!
My Layout, My Workbench Blog and My Opinions

Bigmet
Posts: 7574
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 2:19 pm

Re: Simulator

Postby Bigmet » Mon Apr 20, 2020 10:53 am

IAN1955 wrote:One thing I learned was to buy a good controller and that is where you good people come in, I had a Bachmann controller that IMO was not very good, I have been looking at Gaugemaster 4 track Track Controller with Simulation, what is simulation I know some will roll their eyes but it has been over 50 years since I did this.

Now the next part, I am not into DCC I am old fashioned DC, I will have 4 running tracks with sidings and other branches would the above controller do the job or is there something better...

If you have four tracks for continuous running, then there's 'nothing left over' on a four track controller to work the sidings and branches. And another thing, is this going to be a physically large layout ? (It sounds like it.)

You might want to consider DCC, because it is the readily available 'something better'. I was sceptical that it offered that much over my then three cab switched section layout with Morley controllers which worked very satisfactorily. But when I tried it, there was no going back.

One walk around handset (tethered or untethered) runs all the trains and potentially the whole layout. (You can have more handsets if required.)
Every traction unit has individually customisable simulation, all of which can be immediately disengaged or altered from the handset at need:
* It will start at the slowest speed the mechanism can sustain with an almost imperceptible smooth creep into motion, and ditto for stopping
* It will simulate acceleration and braking exactly as you like, or you can drive directly without any simulation,
* It can have a customised speed curve and maximum speed set appropriate to the loco type.
You can park locos nose to tail on any siding or loop, make up double headers or combine and split MU's, without need for any isolating sections.
Reliability at starting and dead slow is effectively perfect, because there is full power on track at all times.
Any degree of automation you might require can be readily accomplished.

User avatar
Peterm
Posts: 1585
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:26 pm
Location: Bribie Island. Australia

Re: Simulator

Postby Peterm » Tue Apr 21, 2020 1:22 am

Ditto.....
Pete.


Return to “General Model Railway Discussion / News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests