Building a base for layout.

Discuss model railway topics and news that do not fit into other sections.
crazypotter

Building a base for layout.

Postby crazypotter » Wed Nov 29, 2017 2:37 pm

Hi. As a complete novice with model railway layouts I need a little advice if possible. I am going to attempt to built a layout, perhaps beginning with a basic oval and then extending. I thought of starting with a 6 X 4 base. What would be the best material to use and some general construction tips. Many thanks.( This will be for my grandson so I want to look dead cool and innovative!!.).

Dad-1

Re: Building a base for layout.

Postby Dad-1 » Wed Nov 29, 2017 2:58 pm

Ohh the dreaded 6'x4' !! Big one piece slabs are always a difficult entity to move around.
Even 6'x3' is a handful and my layout of that size is divided into two equal 3' squares.

For ideas of what things can look like it may be worth looking at St Oval at :-
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=26513

The age of your Grandchildren will also influence what would be most suitable for them.
In reality you face the railway modellers equation of Space-Time-Money. Space comes
first as the other two are more flexible, but learning to live within a fixed accommodation
influences more than anything else.

From that comes scale/gauge. There is much to be said for 'N', being only 2 mm to the foot
offers more diversity of layout designs. With '00' at 4 mm to the foot you really do have to
learn how to compact things.

Geoff T.
Remember ... I know nothing about railways.
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=32187 and Another on viewtopic.php?f=22&t=28436&start=60&st=0&sk=t&sd=a

crazypotter

Postby crazypotter » Wed Nov 29, 2017 3:05 pm

Food for thought. Thanks.

Emettman

Postby Emettman » Thu Nov 30, 2017 1:59 pm

crazypotter wrote:Hi.

Hello and welcome, crazypotter...

I thought of starting with a 6 X 4 base.

The very Devil's tablecloth!
Having said that, *occasionally* it is the best move. But so often it isn't for several reasons!

No worries.