Page 1 of 2

bachmann loco

Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 1:49 am
by casablanca
Hi guys bought a bachmann hall loco namley kinlet hall which is dcc ready it was running fine but now it wont go backwards any ides would be helpful

Re: bachmann loco

Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 2:11 am
by GWR_fan
I would remove the body and check for a mechanical obstruction preventing reverse running. On Bachmann I have had a fine pickup wiper break off and lodge against the wheel allowing direction in one way only.

Re: bachmann loco

Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 10:51 am
by Bufferstop
Also check blanking plug and the wires around the PCB.

Re: bachmann loco

Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 12:16 pm
by Bigmet
Did it run backwards without problems when first received? (I imagine so as you describe the running as 'fine'.)

If so, what have you since done to the loco? Have you fitted a decoder? Often a backtrack through your own actions is the quickest way to seeing what has changed, and may have caused the problem you now observe.

Re: bachmann loco

Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 7:42 pm
by casablanca
Thanks for your replies ill do those checks

Re: bachmann loco

Posted: Sat Feb 04, 2017 11:36 pm
by Peterm
Is it new or second hand ?

Re: bachmann loco

Posted: Mon Feb 06, 2017 8:55 pm
by casablanca
Hi perterm it is second hand but looks new like i said it worked fine for a week or so it was already dcc chipped it runs smooth going foward start away on step 3 runs up to full speed no problem but wheh i try to go in reverse it stops dead it got me beat

Re: bachmann loco

Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 1:36 am
by Peterm
If it runs forwards OK but won't move or attempt to move in reverse and you can find no mechanical reason, it could be the decoder. Can you remove the decoder and try it on DC or substitute another decoder ?

Re: bachmann loco

Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:59 am
by casablanca
Ok ill try that

Re: bachmann loco

Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 11:02 am
by Bigmet
Simple first thing to do before removing the decoder, attempt a decoder reset if your DCC system can perform this. You will need to know the decoder identity or have the decoder manual to find out what the reset procedure is.

A reset returns the decoder to address 3, and restores factory default settings, so if the decoder got an instruction corrupted it should restore normal operation. Always worth a try as it is a lot less effort than body removal to access the decoder physically.

Re: bachmann loco

Posted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 4:17 pm
by alex3410
sometimes i have had to reset chips multiple times before it actually seems to go through - make sure track and wheels are clean as well

Re: bachmann loco

Posted: Wed Feb 08, 2017 5:41 pm
by Jburr5085
This will sound stupid...
but have you checked that the switch isn't in neutral. Iv'e spent a good half hour before checking my wiring before I figured it out. :roll:

Re: bachmann loco

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 3:23 pm
by casablanca
Thanks guys for all your replies its turns out it was a faulty decoder strange that i tried in another loco just for laughs and guess what it worked fine electronics never fail to amaze me

Re: bachmann loco

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 3:46 pm
by Bufferstop
Taking the electronics apart and reassembling often cures random problems. Standard practice with the IBM PC was to take out all of the cards, vac the bottom of the case including the card slots, clean all the edge connectors and put it back together. Would clear loads of faults that would take hours to have diagnosed. Around 1983/4 Acorn were in so much financial difficulty that they skipped the gold plating stage on a whole batch of BBC B motherboards. This gave rise to odd problems like failing to boot, not initialising eproms etc. The official advice was to lift up the front of the case, prop it up with a matchbox stood on end, then quickly pull the matchbox out. The resultant jolt would often re-seat the eproms in their unplated sockets.

Re: bachmann loco

Posted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 7:55 pm
by NakatsuHime
Similar advice from a similar era, but to solve a different problem :

If your Amiga was having regular odd Guru Meditations, it could be one or more custom chips losing contact with their associated sockets.
Too nervous to take it apart? Then hold it upside down and drop it onto your bed / some pillows.
The shock would help reseat them.

Silly advice?
Nope. Sometimes worked.