Dragging wires

Discuss model railway topics and news that do not fit into other sections.
User avatar
Jburr5085
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 12:54 pm

Dragging wires

Postby Jburr5085 » Mon Nov 21, 2016 1:02 pm

I have been given a limited edition castle class "Swindon" Which would run nicely if it wasn't for the wires that run to the tender box. They drag across the track and catch on points, causing it to stop. I can't work out how to stop them. does any one have any ideas? :?: :? (Wow, these faces are fun aren't they?)
Last edited by Jburr5085 on Mon Nov 21, 2016 1:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
JTB "I'll have a go but I must warn you that I am incompetent"

User avatar
Jburr5085
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 12:54 pm

Re: Dragging wires

Postby Jburr5085 » Mon Nov 21, 2016 1:08 pm

coal tender not box.
JTB "I'll have a go but I must warn you that I am incompetent"

User avatar
Dugie Diesel
Posts: 83
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 10:47 am

Re: Dragging wires

Postby Dugie Diesel » Mon Nov 21, 2016 1:15 pm

Usually the wires are secured inside the loco body with insulation tape, can you take the body off and see if they have come loose and tighten them up a bit, obviously you will need to leave enough slack for the tender to turn. Also make sure the wires aren't trapped when refitting the body, they can be a bit snug sometimes.
Don't mess with my Choo Choo.......

Bigmet
Posts: 6855
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 2:19 pm

Re: Dragging wires

Postby Bigmet » Mon Nov 21, 2016 3:24 pm

This takes a little dexterity*, but if you wind the slack once around the drawbar between loco and tender, it is kept clear of the track. I use this method on all the Hornby models with the wired connection to the tender, especially necessary as I have shortened all the drawbars to scale length, so there is even more slack to deal with.

*What with being challenged on the dexterity front due to fingers somewhat like sauages, I subcontract this task to my wife's very neat and nimble fingers.

User avatar
Jburr5085
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 12:54 pm

Re: Dragging wires

Postby Jburr5085 » Mon Nov 21, 2016 5:20 pm

Thanks. I'll try both methods and see if they work.
JTB "I'll have a go but I must warn you that I am incompetent"


Return to “General Model Railway Discussion / News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests