Hornby HM2000 or something else?

Discuss model railway topics and news that do not fit into other sections.
Oranoco

Hornby HM2000 or something else?

Postby Oranoco » Tue Feb 23, 2016 8:02 am

Was considering swapping my mismatched controllers out for something a bit better and seen a few of these on ebay at OK sort of money.

What's the general consensus on them? Is there something better that won't cause my plastic to melt?

Going DCC whilst being a nice idea is just sadly not on.

Richard Lee

Re: Hornby HM2000 or something else?

Postby Richard Lee » Tue Feb 23, 2016 8:18 am

Can't comment on the Hornby-made HM2000, but if you are looking for a new DC controller, I can recommend the Gaugemaster ones. I have a couple of Gaugemaster Combis, and have been very pleased with them. Quite a few model shops do them, sometimes at a cheaper price than Gaugemaster does.

By the way, Gaugemaster have a lifetime guarantee for their DC controllers. This is irrespective of where you bought it from. The only time I had a problem with one of mine, I only had to pay the postage back to Gaugemaster. They returned it quickly, fully working.

b308

Postby b308 » Tue Feb 23, 2016 8:23 am

Yep, agree with Richard, Gaugemaster controllers are very good and their lifetime guarantee means what it says, I've had the same experience as he did. Just make sure you get the right controller for your stock as they do different ones for the various scales. Just go on their website and it explains on there. My last one I bought from Hattons.

skyblue

Postby skyblue » Tue Feb 23, 2016 8:48 am

I have a HM2000. I quite like it - it's very simple but seems to work well for what I want. It did at one point break (loose connection inside) and it can only be repaired by Hornby because the screws require a special screwdriver to open. It took Hornby 3 months to repair it but since then it has been fine.