DCC or DC? What to do, what to do.

Discuss model railway topics and news that do not fit into other sections.
Richard Lee
Posts: 258
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 6:00 am

Re: DCC or DC? What to do, what to do.

Postby Richard Lee » Sat Aug 15, 2015 6:45 am

End2end wrote:Perhaps, and please excuse my naievity, on DC it seems (to me anyway) more like being a signal man with all the sections??

I use DC for my 1930s branch line. I only run one loco at a time. The layout is a single track 'L' shaped end-to-end, so any more would be difficult to control safely, and almost certainly, non-prototypical. Initially, I had most of the layout permanently connected to the track power, with a few sidings isolated by switches. Later, I changed things slightly by connecting one rail of each isolating siding to the frog of the points leading in to it. Now, I don't need to operate any switches to isolate or de-isolate sidings; the points do the job. I just operate points where necessary, and run trains.

Presumably, even DCC users have to change points occasionally.

I don't suggest that DC should be used for all layouts. What I do believe is that for some smaller layouts, DC works very well. If I had the opportunity to have a larger, more complex layout, then I would almost certainly consider DCC.

User avatar
pete12345
Posts: 1020
Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2006 7:53 pm
Location: Coventry

Re: DCC or DC? What to do, what to do.

Postby pete12345 » Sat Aug 15, 2015 3:59 pm

Richard Lee wrote:I don't suggest that DC should be used for all layouts. What I do believe is that for some smaller layouts, DC works very well. If I had the opportunity to have a larger, more complex layout, then I would almost certainly consider DCC.


If you're running a small, 'one engine in steam' layout and have no use for independent headlights etc (one of the big draws of DCC for American modellers, but less use for UK models) then DCC has no real advantage, and DC is a good choice. A lot of smaller termini operated under this system- there is one single-line token that the driver has to possess before using the line. As there's only one, there can be no collisions as only one train will ever be on the branch at any time. This simplifies signalling requirements too. Even in cases where you need two trains on the layout at once, it's often simple enough to rely on power routing from the points to isolate the second loco.

DCC works well is on larger layouts, and also anywhere where there's dense track with several locos about (e.g an MPD layout or industrial terminal). To get this sort of layout working properly on DC, you'd need a large number of track sections to keep everything separated, which would quickly become tedious IMO.
Once an engine attached to a train, was afraid of a few drops of rain...

User avatar
railsquid
Posts: 82
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2015 12:43 pm
Location: Tokyo

Re: DCC or DC? What to do, what to do.

Postby railsquid » Sun Aug 16, 2015 12:59 am

I was originally going to go DCC on my new (N-gauge) layout to simplify wiring, and had I stuck with the couple of dozen recent-ish mainly DCC-ready British and European locos I have, I would have followed through. However I was recently diagnosed with a hopeless addiction to Japanese and "classic" N-gauge motive power, meaning I now seem to have around 90 powered units, most of which would require manual conversion and even leaving aside the cost (and there are quite a few multiple units with unpowered end cars which would need additional decoders) the sheer effort requires suddenly makes DC seem much more attractive. As my needs are quite modest (single operator, at most three trains in operation), block switching and a few (well, more than a few) isolating sections should do it for me. DCC would be nice-to-have but the additional benefits compared to the effort/cost involved aren't worth it - for me.


Return to “General Model Railway Discussion / News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests