Adding Drivers to Your Model Trains/Locomotives.

Discuss model railway topics and news that do not fit into other sections.
User avatar
D306Whistler
Posts: 602
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 11:15 pm
Location: Merseyside. Great Britannia!
Contact:

Adding Drivers to Your Model Trains/Locomotives.

Postby D306Whistler » Wed Jan 15, 2014 9:51 pm

Hello everyone.

I have recently started giving my model trains a little upgrade by adding drivers into the cab of atleast 6 of my model trains with aims to treat more of my rolling stock in this way. As you may know, there is companies that make driver figures such as Kato, Preiser and Noch etc. Although I managed to bag a pack of Noch Truck Drivers which I have added to some of my Oxford Diecast road vehicles (more on this later), I couldn't find any train drivers with the bright hi-vis jackets on. So I have decided to be different and I have vouched for the Kato Japanese train driver packs and imported two packs of Kato 6-529 packs of 6 figures which have three drivers and three train guards in these packs.

Here is some photos of the work I have done to the six models so far ;).
Image
43055 gets a driver at last!
Image
Side view of 43055.....
Image
A bit closer! ;).
Image
67018 gets a driver as well.
Image
Moving in closer at the chap..................
Image
Side on view of the new recruit at work in 67018 ;).
Image
60008 also gets a driver! ;).
Image
Lets take a closer look at the driver that is in charge of 60008........
Image
Finally 59206 also gets a driver added after a bit of modding to get the guy to fit into that "knee-jamming" space! O_o.

Here is my tutorial on how to do this with your models
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vSUAcQIslSo

I hope this topic will help others that are interested in upgrading their models. The Hornby Class 60, Class 59 and Class 67 locomotives were fairly easy to get into for accessing the cab interiors but the HST cab unit will require some care so that you do not break the fixing pins at the front end. So please don't rush this part as it will save headaches later. Also be careful not to snag the cab light cable as its a bit on the fragile side.

Happy Modelling! :).
Ash - A Thoroughbred Railway Fan ;).

60008 and D306 are the best Diesels Ever!
http://www.youtube.com/EWS60008

User avatar
D306Whistler
Posts: 602
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 11:15 pm
Location: Merseyside. Great Britannia!
Contact:

Re: Adding Drivers to Your Model Trains/Locomotives.

Postby D306Whistler » Wed Jan 15, 2014 9:55 pm

Image
Here is a photo of the packs of driver/gauge figures I am using in my Hornby models that are shown in the other photos ;).
Ash - A Thoroughbred Railway Fan ;).

60008 and D306 are the best Diesels Ever!
http://www.youtube.com/EWS60008

User avatar
dubdee1000
Posts: 902
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2008 9:59 pm
Location: cwm brynbuga

Re: Adding Drivers to Your Model Trains/Locomotives.

Postby dubdee1000 » Wed Jan 15, 2014 10:44 pm

Cheers for this Ash. The advent of lightning on locos and stock highlights how many of us have ghost trains trundling around the track

User avatar
glencairn
Posts: 3194
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 6:09 pm
Location: Both sides of the Border

Re: Adding Drivers to Your Model Trains/Locomotives.

Postby glencairn » Thu Jan 16, 2014 10:10 am

I have been adding drivers to my locos for a little while now. It certainly makes a big difference when running them.

Glencairn
To the world you are someone. To someone you are their world.

User avatar
D306Whistler
Posts: 602
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 11:15 pm
Location: Merseyside. Great Britannia!
Contact:

Re: Adding Drivers to Your Model Trains/Locomotives.

Postby D306Whistler » Thu Jan 16, 2014 1:58 pm

dubdee1000 wrote:Cheers for this Ash. The advent of lightning on locos and stock highlights how many of us have ghost trains trundling around the track
No problem mate. I do agree that trains running around with no-one in the cab gives them that "Herbie" (the VW beetle) impression ;). The next task is to populate my carriages with passengers as well as I will need a few packs of them for all my DMU, Carriages and EMU's. Then that should breathe some life into my stock :).

glencairn wrote:I have been adding drivers to my locos for a little while now. It certainly makes a big difference when running them.

Glencairn
It certainly does mate :). Since I have completed the first 6 from my fleet. I now intend to roll this out along my fleet with atleast 80% of my model trains as I intend to keep a few with no crew inside for parking in the depot etc. I will do another topic for adding people into a DMU/carriage later once the extra packets of people arrive in the post! ;).
Ash - A Thoroughbred Railway Fan ;).

60008 and D306 are the best Diesels Ever!
http://www.youtube.com/EWS60008

User avatar
D306Whistler
Posts: 602
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 11:15 pm
Location: Merseyside. Great Britannia!
Contact:

Re: Adding Drivers to Your Model Trains/Locomotives.

Postby D306Whistler » Mon Jan 20, 2014 5:09 pm

I thought there would be more interest on this sort of thing. Especially for the modellers that like detailing their models ;).
Ash - A Thoroughbred Railway Fan ;).

60008 and D306 are the best Diesels Ever!
http://www.youtube.com/EWS60008

User avatar
Free_at_last
Posts: 235
Joined: Sun Apr 15, 2007 6:12 pm
Location: Liverpool

Re: Adding Drivers to Your Model Trains/Locomotives.

Postby Free_at_last » Mon Jan 20, 2014 5:18 pm

dubdee1000 wrote: The advent of lightning on locos and stock highlights how many of us have ghost trains trundling around the track


The sound of some thunder would also add to the effect.
Pete.
Gauge is not spelt guage. Remember to put another "m" in remeber. Manufacturers has two "r"s in.
When you buy something, you have bought it, not brought it.
Before you post, are you really LOL and do you NEED to tell us?

User avatar
glencairn
Posts: 3194
Joined: Sat Aug 30, 2008 6:09 pm
Location: Both sides of the Border

Re: Adding Drivers to Your Model Trains/Locomotives.

Postby glencairn » Mon Jan 20, 2014 7:43 pm

D306Whistler wrote:I thought there would be more interest on this sort of thing. Especially for the modellers that like detailing their models ;).


Hi Whistler Just goes to show. Personally. I'm not a 'rivet counter' but I like to have 'little people' on my layout. They are around the town scene, on the farms, going to the campsite, on the platforms waiting for their train, in the carriages and the engines all have drivers. It all gives a pleasing atmosphere on my layout.

Glencairn
To the world you are someone. To someone you are their world.

Richard Lee
Posts: 230
Joined: Tue May 08, 2012 6:00 am

Re: Adding Drivers to Your Model Trains/Locomotives.

Postby Richard Lee » Tue Jan 21, 2014 8:37 am

When I added crew to my Hornby M7s I used plastic (Bachmann) figures because I didn't want to add significant weight that wasn't between the driving wheels.

For my Terriers I used metal figures. Had a real fight trying to get them into the cabs, though.

User avatar
D306Whistler
Posts: 602
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 11:15 pm
Location: Merseyside. Great Britannia!
Contact:

Re: Adding Drivers to Your Model Trains/Locomotives.

Postby D306Whistler » Wed Jan 22, 2014 4:11 pm

I've now added a crew to my Class 153 and Class 142. I also added some passengers whilst I was in the process as I nabbed a pack of 24 seated passengers for £5 :).
Ash - A Thoroughbred Railway Fan ;).

60008 and D306 are the best Diesels Ever!
http://www.youtube.com/EWS60008

User avatar
piermaster
Posts: 310
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 4:07 pm

Re: Adding Drivers to Your Model Trains/Locomotives.

Postby piermaster » Fri Feb 21, 2014 8:39 am

Hi,

I've done the same with all but one item on my 'Essellty' micro-layout. The one I wouldn't attempt is the Hejan W&M Railbus as having cut my fingers and bled on the interior whilst chipping the brute, I am reluctant to get back to that vehicle's interior again.

Nor have I added drivers to my Hornby 121 or Hornby 153 - the 121 has no floor at one end and the 153 cabs are too small to try and add crew! Both these railcars and my GWR heritage railcar are populated with passengers seated on the viewing side. I relented to having one Kettle on Essellty and my Tornado has a crew, for there is nothing worse than a crewless steam loco!!

Essellty also has passengers on the platform grouped by a door position suitable for the 121 and 153, but slightly out for the railbus and GWR railcar.

My other micro-layout New Walmington Pier only has 2 passengers in the tram, both standing on the open platform, however over 75 people, dogs, birds, monkeys (on the barrel organ) and a Grim Reaper populate the pier.
Dave
Piermaster - New Walmington Pier
It sticks out half a mile!!
Terminus - All Change!!!
Heritage trams in a heritage setting.

User avatar
Boxcar Willie
Posts: 322
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 1:33 am
Location: location, location.

Re: Adding Drivers to Your Model Trains/Locomotives.

Postby Boxcar Willie » Fri Feb 21, 2014 11:35 am

I have a GRW autocoach and when the time comes to detail it I'll probably go with Dart Castings for passengers. The loco that's going to pull it (a 2-6-2t) has neither driver nor fireman and I don't want to use the Hornby ones as they all look the same. Likewise my CIE Woolwich Mogul which is right-hand drive so the Hornby driver will look as though he's giving the Hitler salute instead of driving. Can anybody suggest a supplier of steam era crews that have a variety of poses? I'd toyed with the idea of using packs of Airfix figures - RAF crews and so on - but there's nothing to really suit.

User avatar
skyblue
Posts: 1745
Joined: Sat Aug 18, 2012 11:17 am

Re: Adding Drivers to Your Model Trains/Locomotives.

Postby skyblue » Fri Feb 21, 2014 12:39 pm

I've just fitted a few locos and an autocoach with crews - here's a picture of my Grange with crew (both figures from the Dapol railway workmen set). Apologies for the quality.

Image

User avatar
D306Whistler
Posts: 602
Joined: Tue Aug 31, 2010 11:15 pm
Location: Merseyside. Great Britannia!
Contact:

Re: Adding Drivers to Your Model Trains/Locomotives.

Postby D306Whistler » Mon Feb 24, 2014 3:04 pm

I have fitted a driver into the longer cab end of the Class 153. But she's standing up in the cab (I've seen a few drivers do this in the "short end" cab on the real 153's). I have a tutorial of this which is here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pZvkNRs9rD8 and it will should you my method as she justs fits in the footwell without any major modifications. But keep a file handy just incase you need to file down their feet like I had to in some of my older models :).
Ash - A Thoroughbred Railway Fan ;).

60008 and D306 are the best Diesels Ever!
http://www.youtube.com/EWS60008

User avatar
rosenblad
Posts: 335
Joined: Sun May 28, 2006 1:15 pm
Location: Norway

Re: Adding Drivers to Your Model Trains/Locomotives.

Postby rosenblad » Thu Feb 27, 2014 4:33 pm

When adding drivers you sometimes need to adjust their arms. If they are white metal ones, be careful when bending their arms. I found out the hard way by breaking the poor guy's arm at the shoulder! A spot of glue will sort this out, but be warned so you don't do the same mistake! This one was surprisingly brittle!
Carpe Diem!


Return to “General Model Railway Discussion / News”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests