Torn between my layout and trains

Any questions about designing a model railway layout or problems with track work.
ZacR

Torn between my layout and trains

Postby ZacR » Mon Jun 17, 2019 5:42 pm

I am new to this. Just started making a layout last year in August and now I've built it(on cheap and still in progress). Problem is I have a mallard and a flying scotsman and they don't run well on my layout. I have 2 other small locos all hornby and they run well on all 3 levels on my layout. I am torn between having to keep adjusting the landscaping and layout for the long locos and carriages and if I should just get rid of them 2 long locos. Some must have had to make similar choices or is it just me making it harder than it should be? Haha.

Bufferstop

Re: Torn between my layout and trains

Postby Bufferstop » Mon Jun 17, 2019 8:48 pm

Guess what locos are shelf queen's in my display cabinet, an A4, a B1 4-6-0, a class 45, a 3+2HST and the APT prototype. In the in use cabinet the biggest loco is a GWR Hall, the rest 0-6-0 s and 0-4-0s steam and deisel, stored in the carriage sidings and movable fiddle yard are Mk1s and earlier first generation DMUs,a GWR flying banana. Lurking in its own locoshed is City of Truro, the celebraty visitor. My minimum radius is 18inches, and points are Peco short and Y.
The Mk1s overhang on the 18inch curves is a bit toylike so the curves are obscured by shallow embankments, an overbridge and a clump of trees. The coaches going around the curves look acceptable as long as the bogies and track can't be seen. If you have sentimental attachments to the big steamers promote them to display items, if you don't flog them. Over the last four or five years the number of small steamers and diesels has mushroomed. If you only have space for tight curves and short trains the choice is between small mainline, branch line or industrial. Or you could cop out of the choice and model a heritage line like I do.