Kato unitrack

Any questions about designing a model railway layout or problems with track work.
DYLAN
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2019 9:08 am

Kato unitrack

Postby DYLAN » Thu Feb 14, 2019 3:14 pm

Hello all

Two questions about Kato unitrack points [ turnouts if you insist ! ] and crossovers.

Am I correct in thinking that if the screw is moved from the as supplied in the 'power routing' location of both the straight and curved live rails to the 'non power routing' location options of both the straight and curved live rails that both the straight AND curved live rails will be permanently live ie powered up?

Secondly - may I combine 2 or more points switching motor leads to the two wire cable single plug at the Kato point switch? In other words activating the switch powers both points simultaneously eg could open the entry to and exit from a passing section using just a single switch?

CHEERS!

Mike Parkes
Posts: 644
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 8:25 pm

Re: Kato unitrack

Postby Mike Parkes » Thu Feb 14, 2019 5:39 pm

The screw settings are shown on the card packing.
Re the second question yes - you can alternatively chop off the Kato connectors and wire the points to any suitable switch.

User avatar
Ironduke
Posts: 686
Joined: Mon Sep 26, 2005 12:04 am
Location: Ballarat Victoria Australia
Contact:

Re: Kato unitrack

Postby Ironduke » Thu Feb 14, 2019 8:35 pm

DYLAN wrote:Secondly - may I combine 2 or more points switching motor leads to the two wire cable single plug at the Kato point switch? In other words activating the switch powers both points simultaneously eg could open the entry to and exit from a passing section using just a single switch?


Hi Dylan,
Yes. The power supply to the Kato controller that the point switches are connected to is not very powerful but it handled two points ok for me. I've since replaced the switches with decoders.
Regards
Rob

Byegad
Posts: 82
Joined: Fri Jun 30, 2017 1:56 pm

Re: Kato unitrack

Postby Byegad » Fri Feb 15, 2019 2:10 pm

Just remember that Kato points work on DC, not AC. I've used a 9v battery to power the points on my Xmas under tree layout.


Return to “Track/Layout Design”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests