2nd radius in flexible track

Any questions about designing a model railway layout or problems with track work.
muggins
Posts: 397
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 11:24 am

2nd radius in flexible track

Postby muggins » Mon Mar 27, 2017 7:54 pm

I have an idea for a layout improvement which would need what amounts to 180° of 2nd radius curve on my main running line at one end of the baseboard. Any reason why I shouldn't use Code 75 flexy track for that, given the appropriate Tracksetta template and a bit of care?

dan8400
Posts: 755
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 6:02 pm
Location: Midville, Lincolnshire
Contact:

Re: 2nd radius in flexible track

Postby dan8400 » Mon Mar 27, 2017 8:18 pm

Don't see why not. Although, in the same situation, I would use set track. It is easy to use and already the correct gauge. Flexi track could come out of gauge round a sharp bend

Just my two cents

Thanks
Dan
My Layout Thread: viewtopic.php?f=22&t=30117

User avatar
Emettman
Posts: 2287
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2014 4:43 pm
Location: Cornwall UK
Contact:

Re: 2nd radius in flexible track

Postby Emettman » Mon Mar 27, 2017 10:27 pm

It can certainly be done.
I'd take the rails out and pre-curve them by hand, and cut some of the sleeper webbing too : this not to rely on pins/glue to hold the curve true over time.

But I too would actually use set track and adjust the rail heights to match at the two end curves.
Unless space was tight I'd use rigid track for say 160 degrees and then have a flexitrack transition into "straight" at either end.

Chris
"It's his madness that keeps him sane."

User avatar
Bufferstop
Posts: 11478
Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2010 12:06 pm
Location: Bottom end of N. Warks line

Re: 2nd radius in flexible track

Postby Bufferstop » Mon Mar 27, 2017 11:06 pm

My experience with code 75 flexible track is that it doesn't need any pre-bending. but you do need to use some kind of template if you are laying a long curve if you are going to avoid getting the minimum radius too tight. It's also a good idea to use a straight edge when laying straights as it's easy to push it out of line. Because the track profile is that bit smaller the fixings on code 75 are also a bit slimmer, so removing and re threading the rails is a little more risky than doing it with code 100.
Growing old, can't avoid it. Growing up, forget it!
My Layout, My Workbench Blog and My Opinions

muggins
Posts: 397
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 11:24 am

Re: 2nd radius in flexible track

Postby muggins » Tue Mar 28, 2017 7:23 am

dan8400 wrote:... Flexi track could come out of gauge round a sharp bend


That's what I was thinking. Hence the question. Seeing as how I'm supposed to be old enough to know better nowadays, I think for once in my life I'll play safe and buy some 2nd rad curves.

dan8400
Posts: 755
Joined: Sun Nov 01, 2009 6:02 pm
Location: Midville, Lincolnshire
Contact:

Re: 2nd radius in flexible track

Postby dan8400 » Tue Mar 28, 2017 7:45 am

I'm not sure if you know or not, but, Peco do a very handy 'Code 75 to Code 100' Joiner.

Like this: http://www.hattons.co.uk/56889/Peco_Pro ... etail.aspx

This may come in handy if you cannot get Code 75 set track (doubt it)

Thanks
Dan
My Layout Thread: viewtopic.php?f=22&t=30117

muggins
Posts: 397
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2016 11:24 am

Re: 2nd radius in flexible track

Postby muggins » Tue Mar 28, 2017 8:32 am

Cheers Dan. I have used them, so I know do know about them. I also know that you can't always trust the connection between the two short lengths (i.e. the wires spot-welded underneath) ... :roll:

Mike Parkes
Posts: 644
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2007 8:25 pm

Re: 2nd radius in flexible track

Postby Mike Parkes » Tue Mar 28, 2017 10:28 am

I would always use setrack for curves that are readily available. Even if you get the curve nice and neat out of flex once the layout had gone through a heatwave then its quite likely the nice neat sharpish radius curve has distorted slightly in a few places.


Return to “Track/Layout Design”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest