Printing out full size any rail plans?

Any questions about designing a model railway layout or problems with track work.
User avatar
Dale_the_noob
Posts: 328
Joined: Thu Apr 03, 2008 7:07 pm
Location: Berkshire

Printing out full size any rail plans?

Postby Dale_the_noob » Thu Jun 03, 2010 11:50 am

How do people do it? lots of sheets and a load of prittstick or do people take them to a large format printer?

User avatar
Jack Middleton
Posts: 158
Joined: Wed May 20, 2009 9:25 am

Re: Printing out full size any rail plans?

Postby Jack Middleton » Thu Jun 03, 2010 11:55 am

Cut 'n' stick job for me!

User avatar
Zunnan
Posts: 1213
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 2:54 pm
Location: On the cusp of spaghetti...B23

Re: Printing out full size any rail plans?

Postby Zunnan » Thu Jun 03, 2010 12:09 pm

Not done it personally as I prefer to use pencil, large compass, tracksettas and a ruler to draw the plans physically on to the boards; but I would use A3 prints and 'Spray Mount' to fix the prints to the baseboard if I wanted to work directly to CAD work. If you don't want to fix the prints to the board I would use masking tape to hold them together as its low tack and less likely to rip paper when being parted.

User avatar
klaatu
Posts: 187
Joined: Sun Jan 10, 2010 10:44 am
Location: Sanday, Orkney

Re: Printing out full size any rail plans?

Postby klaatu » Thu Jun 03, 2010 2:37 pm

I was going to ask about printing off track plans 1:1 and whether this was a good way of laying curves? Few of my radii correspond to a tracksetta, so I was wondering what the best method was of getting smooth curves...

Steve
Just playing trains - not a "proper modeller"

phil sabin
Posts: 107
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 10:55 pm
Location: west midlands

Re: Printing out full size any rail plans?

Postby phil sabin » Thu Jun 03, 2010 7:24 pm

I print out lots of sheets, then get the wife to stick them together :P
My N gauge layout Milton Grove TMD viewtopic.php?f=22&t=27781

m8internet
Posts: 1640
Joined: Mon May 15, 2006 7:32 pm
Location: Cumbernauld, Scotland

Re: Printing out full size any rail plans?

Postby m8internet » Thu Jun 03, 2010 8:38 pm

Print the elements you need, then photocopy them
Print the original track plan and transfer this using the elements you printed
Glasgow Queen Street Model Railway layout : modern image N gauge using DCC

User avatar
S_Jay
Posts: 241
Joined: Thu Dec 27, 2007 4:38 pm
Location: Nottingham
Contact:

Re: Printing out full size any rail plans?

Postby S_Jay » Thu Jun 03, 2010 10:36 pm

Print it off one to one and paste it to the board. Then pin the track to and glue :)
My Layout, My world, My rules, if that's ok?
My layout with no progress http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?t=14866
My other layout with progress http://www.newrailwaymodellers.co.uk/Forums/viewtopic.php?f=22&t=18394

User avatar
briantwigley
Posts: 534
Joined: Thu Aug 17, 2006 9:31 pm
Location: Elgin
Contact:

Re: Printing out full size any rail plans?

Postby briantwigley » Fri Jun 04, 2010 10:29 am

I got a roll of masking tape and using a piece of track measured the tape in half and then using a craft knife I split it making it the correct width, then I laid out my plan. Corners were a little tricky but otherwise ok.


Return to “Track/Layout Design”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest