Dapol / Airfix / Mainline - Same Company ?

Ask questions or give advice on any other model railway Manufacturers and Gauges
snakeman4968

Dapol / Airfix / Mainline - Same Company ?

Postby snakeman4968 » Fri Dec 23, 2011 4:14 am

Hi All,

Apologies if this has come up before, but i'm a bit new to this railway modelling stuff and a have only had experience a long time ago of Hornby and Lima.

Can somebody tell me if Dapol, Airfix and Mainline are all actually the same company, or do they just make very similar products?

Basically, i bought a job lot of model railway items a while back and i have a steam engine by Dapol in it's original 'Dapol' Box. On the underside of the engine there is a manufacturers mark that looks very much like the old circular 'Airfix Logo.

As for the other details, the engine is called 'Royal Scot' and has a running number 46100

Whilst taking a look on that well known auction site for something similar, so that i could offer a fair starting price as steam is not my era, i noticed that Dapol, Airfix and Mainline all have the same model, with the same running number (46100) and felt this was far too much of a coincidence.

Of course, i haven't ruled out the fact that i may have been given the wrong box for the particular model i have, but on the end of the box it says 'D27 Royal Scot BR Green 900160'...which all seems to tally with the model i have.

Sorry to go on, but thought i'd give as much detail,as poss. in one post.

Please advise,
Thanks,
Dave

K9-70

Re: Dapol / Airfix / Mainline - Same Company ?

Postby K9-70 » Fri Dec 23, 2011 8:45 am

snakeman4968 wrote:Hi All,

Apologies if this has come up before, but i'm a bit new to this railway modelling stuff and a have only had experience a long time ago of Hornby and Lima.

Can somebody tell me if Dapol, Airfix and Mainline are all actually the same company, or do they just make very similar products?

Please advise,
Thanks,
Dave

No, not the same company.
In short,