The new 'smokey joe 'R3822

Discuss Hornby Model Railway products and related topics here. This includes (Lima, Rivarossi, Jouef, Electrotren).
mjb1961
Posts: 957
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 7:22 pm
Location: Telford ,Shropshire

The new 'smokey joe 'R3822

Postby mjb1961 » Mon Jul 13, 2020 9:01 pm

Hi ,,I've ordered this new smokey joe ,still waiting for it to arrive,what I would like to know is ,could it be converted to dcc ,I'm sure it isn't dcc ready and I'm also sure the chassis and motor etc are the same as it was years ago ,I know that space might be a problem but still I would like to know if it can be done ,has anyone else converted this loco ,look forward to any advice,thankyou in advance ,,mjb

User avatar
Alexander Court
Posts: 1175
Joined: Mon Mar 21, 2011 7:42 pm
Location: Waterville, Ireland
Contact:

Re: The new 'smokey joe 'R3822

Postby Alexander Court » Mon Jul 13, 2020 9:26 pm

He can be wired to DCC but will involve soldering, Hornby have a guide if you follow this link:
https://www.hornby.com/uk-en/hornby-dcc ... stallation

Hope that helps,
Alex

"I love the way you call it Art, When you never even use your Heart, and I just wanna tear you Apart"

Bigmet
Posts: 8253
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 2:19 pm

Re: The new 'smokey joe 'R3822

Postby Bigmet » Mon Jul 13, 2020 9:36 pm

If it is the same loco as previous Smokey Joes/Caley pugs etc there's room above the worm end of the motor and more can be made by sawing off a little from the front upstand of the casting, and the wiring is readily accessible.

mjb1961
Posts: 957
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 7:22 pm
Location: Telford ,Shropshire

Re: The new 'smokey joe 'R3822

Postby mjb1961 » Mon Jul 13, 2020 9:54 pm

Alexander Court wrote:He can be wired to DCC but will involve soldering, Hornby have a guide if you follow this link:
https://www.hornby.com/uk-en/hornby-dcc ... stallation

Hope that helps,
Alex

That's great Alexander ..thanks

mjb1961
Posts: 957
Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 7:22 pm
Location: Telford ,Shropshire

Re: The new 'smokey joe 'R3822

Postby mjb1961 » Mon Jul 13, 2020 9:56 pm

Bigmet wrote:If it is the same loco as previous Smokey Joes/Caley pugs etc there's room above the worm end of the motor and more can be made by sawing off a little from the front upstand of the casting, and the wiring is readily accessible.

And thankyou to you bigmet for the extra info,,

Bigmet
Posts: 8253
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 2:19 pm

Re: The new 'smokey joe 'R3822

Postby Bigmet » Tue Jul 14, 2020 9:12 am

It's a good while ago now, but I wired a Zimo MX34 on one of these mechanisms for a friend, who was using it to power an 0-4-0T body he was building. (This was the old version with Scalextric performance, and at the time that Zimo decoder was three times the price of the mechanism, which he had bought s/h for under a tenner.) But it fully did the job, the finished loco ran as smoothly and slowly as a Bachmann Jinty with a Lenz decoder; Zimo's range of CV adjustments making it into a 'good dog', Barbara Woodhouse style.

User avatar
Mountain
Posts: 4753
Joined: Mon Oct 24, 2016 3:43 pm
Location: Somewhere in Wales, UK.

Re: The new 'smokey joe 'R3822

Postby Mountain » Tue Jul 14, 2020 12:36 pm

I used a little N gauge decoder and put it in the back of the chassis under where the loco crew would stand.

User avatar
RAF96
Posts: 740
Joined: Tue Feb 19, 2008 1:39 pm
Location: Dereham, Norfolk, UK
Contact:

Re: The new 'smokey joe 'R3822

Postby RAF96 » Wed Jul 15, 2020 4:28 pm

Plenty of room to fit an 8-pin socket as well.

BE4B861D-1F2C-4BB1-BD79-13A23C2320C9.jpeg
RAF Halton Brat - 96th Entry
http://www.halton96th.org.uk/robs_rails.html
β-tester


Return to “Hornby - including Lima, Rivarossi, Jouef, Electrotren”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests