Hornby Thompson B1

Discuss Hornby Model Railway products and related topics here. This includes (Lima, Rivarossi, Jouef, Electrotren).
GWR_fan

Hornby Thompson B1

Postby GWR_fan » Sun Oct 05, 2014 1:51 am

I have noticed that 'recent' Hornby production of the Thompson B1 class are relatively inexpensive, models R2999 and R3000. Is there a quality issue with these locomotives? A recent comment by a well respected member on this site, quote "......as the current Hornby is poor - and the Thompson classes, gruesome though they are. But as ever, it's their money to do with as they choose...", makes me wonder if this product is flawed.

For the money they seem excellent value but then I have not read any reviews or comments on their quality or performance. As a model though they look very nice but then I have no knowledge of ex-LNER locomotives.

Tim

Bigmet

Re: Hornby Thompson B1

Postby Bigmet » Sun Oct 05, 2014 9:29 am

GWR_fan wrote:I have noticed that 'recent' Hornby production of the Thompson B1 class are relatively inexpensive, models R2999 and R3000. Is there a quality issue with these locomotives? A recent comment by a member on this site, quote "......as the current Hornby is poor - and the Thompson classes, gruesome though they are...

That was me, and a reference solely to pacifics, (the LMS Princess model, very long in the tooth, and the actual Thompson pacific designs for which we have no RTR models) thus nothing to do with the Thompson B1, in reality or model form.

Here's what I posted recently in 'Hornby 2014 speculation thread':