new 14xx DCC Ready or not?

Discuss Hornby Model Railway products and related topics here. This includes (Lima, Rivarossi, Jouef, Electrotren).
George Stein
Posts: 220
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 3:47 am

new 14xx DCC Ready or not?

Postby George Stein » Thu Aug 02, 2012 1:20 am

Writing from the USA. The UK on-line hobby shop "topslotsntrains" notes that the new Hornby 14xx is DCC Ready.

"Hornby GWR 14XX Class 0-4-2T Steam Locomotive 4819. Hornby Trains 00 gauge model railway. The Hornby R3117 GWR 0-4-2T 14XX Class Locomotive No 4819 has GWR Livery, The GWR 14XX Class model train also has Sprung Buffers, Extensive detail, NEM Couplings, A Type 7 motor & a Pristine finish. This Hornby Trains GWR 14XX Class 0-4-2T Steam Locomotive is DCC ( Digital Command Control ) System Ready with a length of 120mm. "

All other shops either say it is not, or don't answer the question. So (and given the fairly high price for a re-issue) does anyone REALLY know the "DCC-Ready" status of this forthcoming loco?

GWR_fan
Posts: 4750
Joined: Sun Apr 29, 2012 11:57 pm
Location: Antipodes

Re: new 14xx DCC Ready or not?

Postby GWR_fan » Thu Aug 02, 2012 1:38 am

George,
not answering your question correctly, but the latest Hornby service sheet, HSS 227E, dated 2008, shows it as a hardwired drive. That being said, the motor contacts are separated from the chassis, so decoder installation, while not direct, is as simple a hardwire job as you could imagine. The hardest part fill be finding a space for the decoder (I am thinking in the coal bunker for mine).

Note that any direct decoder install from the factory, would necessitate material being machined from the stock onboard weight and that is not desirable on this loco.

Tim

Brossard
Posts: 303
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2012 1:37 am
Location: Brossard, QC

Re: new 14xx DCC Ready or not?

Postby Brossard » Thu Aug 02, 2012 2:28 am

Hatton's details are usually a good indicator and will tell you if the model is "DCC Ready", otherwise remain silent.

http://www.ehattons.com/51227/Hornby_Mo ... etail.aspx

I would assume hard wired as Tim has indicated.

John
John

User avatar
Peterm
Posts: 1659
Joined: Fri Nov 09, 2007 1:26 pm
Location: Bribie Island. Australia

Re: new 14xx DCC Ready or not?

Postby Peterm » Thu Aug 02, 2012 4:51 am

If it turns out that it's actually dcc fitted you'll be able put a small decoder in it in place of the *fitted one if you want to.
I now use Zimo for their excellent performance and range of cv's, but a lot of people are happy with Hornbys chips.

* It would probably be hard wired in.
Pete.

Brossard
Posts: 303
Joined: Thu Apr 26, 2012 1:37 am
Location: Brossard, QC

Re: new 14xx DCC Ready or not?

Postby Brossard » Thu Aug 02, 2012 5:16 am

Just to clarify, I would assume the model is DC and would need a decoder hardwired in to convert to DCC.

John
John

George Stein
Posts: 220
Joined: Sat Jan 07, 2012 3:47 am

Re: new 14xx DCC Ready or not?

Postby George Stein » Sat Aug 25, 2012 5:28 pm

Hattons confirms that it is NOT DCC ready. So, any advice on decoders, etc.?

User avatar
Jonny
Posts: 379
Joined: Tue Jul 26, 2011 1:15 am
Location: Yorkshire, Britain

Re: new 14xx DCC Ready or not?

Postby Jonny » Sat Aug 25, 2012 9:15 pm

I don't know how helpful this is, but Hornby have a decoder installation guide for Oliver (from the Thomas range) which is also a 14xx locomotive.

http://www.hornby.com/hornby-dcc/decode ... ion-guide/

Fishman
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat Sep 01, 2012 4:20 am

Re: new 14xx DCC Ready or not?

Postby Fishman » Sun Sep 02, 2012 7:44 am

Hornby doesn't list it as DCC ready on their site. It will be difficult to fit too as the motor and weights take up just about all the room available in the body. In fact, this is easy to confirm as the body is held on via a screw that goes through the chimney and the body into the top of the chassis. At least this is the case for my recently purchased second hand version.
And thanks for ......

Dad-1
Posts: 6490
Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2008 8:05 pm
Location: Dorset - A mile from West Bay.

Re: new 14xx DCC Ready or not?

Postby Dad-1 » Sun Sep 02, 2012 9:41 am

As the NEW Hornby 14XX is not new by any means I can confirm you do have to hard wire in.
I have done this on both Dapol & Hornby issues and used the R8249 decoder which sits on the
floor of the cab which is deep & dark.
By keeping the original Hornby traction tyre wheels well shod the traction from this small and
light locomotive is quite impressive. I have had mine pull about 30 wagons !!

I also have one obtained secondhand with a conversion chassis without traction tyres. Looking
at it I have so far chickened out from trying to convert. In this form the traction is very limited
although one autocoach or, 2 or 3 wagons should be possible.

Geoff T.
Remember ... I know nothing about railways.
viewtopic.php?f=22&t=32187 and Another on viewtopic.php?f=22&t=28436&start=60&st=0&sk=t&sd=a

User avatar
D605Eagle
Posts: 2559
Joined: Mon Mar 22, 2010 12:58 am
Location: Staffordshire
Contact:

Re: new 14xx DCC Ready or not?

Postby D605Eagle » Mon Sep 03, 2012 12:31 am

Geoff, if you fit non traction wheels to all axles, reduce the strength of the spring on the trailing axle so it only gently presses the axle down. Mine will pull 4 lima Mk1s or 12 PO wagons easily (no grades!) after conversion. Before it struggled with its self.

trooper
Posts: 20
Joined: Sat Jun 30, 2012 1:38 pm

Re: new 14xx DCC Ready or not?

Postby trooper » Mon Sep 03, 2012 10:31 pm

George Stein wrote:Writing from the USA. The UK on-line hobby shop "topslotsntrains" notes that the new Hornby 14xx is DCC Ready.

"Hornby GWR 14XX Class 0-4-2T Steam Locomotive 4819. Hornby Trains 00 gauge model railway. The Hornby R3117 GWR 0-4-2T 14XX Class Locomotive No 4819 has GWR Livery, The GWR 14XX Class model train also has Sprung Buffers, Extensive detail, NEM Couplings, A Type 7 motor & a Pristine finish. This Hornby Trains GWR 14XX Class 0-4-2T Steam Locomotive is DCC ( Digital Command Control ) System Ready with a length of 120mm. "

All other shops either say it is not, or don't answer the question. So (and given the fairly high price for a re-issue) does anyone REALLY know the "DCC-Ready" status of this forthcoming loco?



Take the top off that should tell you.
Carrying on


Return to “Hornby - including Lima, Rivarossi, Jouef, Electrotren”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest