Wales - Switzerland 009 Connection!

Post pictures and information about your own personal model railway layout that is under construction. Keep members up-to-date with what you are doing and discuss problems that you are having.
TJGoode

Wales - Switzerland 009 Connection!

Post by TJGoode »

I'm a complete beginner to building model layouts, especially to building locos!
My Dad was a trainspotter and was building a big layout in his parent's house when he suddenly went off and married my Mum and forgot about it!
Now there's just a ruin of a never quite completed railway in my Grandparent's house in Llanrumney Cardiff, where we come from.

Years later, after they had my sister and me, moved to Switzerland, had two more girls (my younger sisters - obviously) when I was about ten, my Dad started planning to build a model railway for him and me in the attic of our flat in Zurich.
He bought me my first loco - a GWR King Class (in BR green).
That railway didn't get past the planning phase though, as we moved house twice in the following three years.

Then my Dad had a very ambitious plan for a massive layout in are much larger holiday house in the Bernese area.
He bought loads of locos - GWR of course! (a Castle Class, County Class ["Denbigh County" I believe], Saint Class ["Saint David"], a Class 2800, a few Prairies, a Dean Goods, a few typical GWR Panniers and a lot of other engines.
Loads of coal trucks (Berthlwyd, Kilely, Bute, Evans&Bevans, Tradegar, etc) which we made nice and dirty and filled with our own "coal" (cardboard with cork "gravel" that we painted black)
Quite a few passenger coaches (for all are GWR express locos) and one autocoach to go at the front of a little suburban train.
He got everything digitalised, soldered a chip into every loco he bought.